skip to content
 

This page provides pointers to databases bought or subscribed to by the Library which are of particular German interest. The databases are listed alphabetically in two groups (textual resources and bibliographical resources), with brief summaries of their contents and capabilities. Each database listed below is also linked to its entry on the Library's main eresources pages, where access requirements can be found.

Textual resources

ARTstor

The ARTstor digital library provides millions of arts and humanities images for research and teaching purposes. Users can browse by a number of categories as well as perform specific searches. The main categories are: geography (countries), classification (specific subjects or genres) and collections, and these are divided in turn into the appropriate geographical or classification subdivisions. For example, a geography category browse shows that there are over 60,000 images associated with Germany, of which over 1,000 relate to the classification subdivision Manuscripts and Manuscript Illuminations.
(Statistics as of 26 July 2012.)

Cambridge companions online / Cambridge histories online

A large number of books are available electronically from Cambridge Collections Online and can be found through searches on the LibrarySearch catalogue. Two databases also bring together the contents of specific Cambridge books, duplicating what is available through the catalogue but allowing searches across books. Cambridge Companions Online includes a very wide range of publications relating to Germanists. Among the general literature titles are The Cambridge companion to the modern German novel and The Cambridge companion to German Romanticism; and the more specific literary ones include companions to Brecht, to Goethe, and to Thomas Mann. Specific titles also includes companions to composers (eg Wagner, Strauss, Bach), to theologians (eg Luther, Tillich), and to philosophers (eg Benjamin, Schleiermacher, Kant). Cambridge Histories Online can be searched with a specific term or its contents can be browsed, in categories which include literary studies and regional history.

Deutsche Literatur des 18. Jahrhunderts

A collection of first editions of 18th century German literature from the Early to the Late Enlightenment. More than 600 authors and approximately 2,700 works are included in the collection.

Digizeitschriften

Read all about Digizeitschriften on the German ejournals page.

Early European books

A developing database that aims to produce digital copies of all books published in Europe or in European languages before 1701. Based on key libraries, starting with the Royal Library, Copenhagen and the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze, its current collection includes 188 works in German, some of which are translations from other languages, some 35 works by Kepler in Latin, German and English, and 74 works by Luther in a variety of languages. Future expansion into German academic libraries is planned.
(Statistics as of 19 July 2012.)

Electronic Enlightenment

With 59,489 letters and documents and 7,230 correspondents, EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century. The rich variety of people in EE represents a real cross-section of early modern society in Europe and the Americas. A range of sophisticated searches are possible. Lives can be isolated by nationality ; there are currently 580 Swiss, 218 German and just 20 Austrians represented. It is also possible to identify letters and documents sent from a particular geographical location, whether this be a country, region or city. EE currently contains 1319 letters sent from Germany, for example, of which 66 originated in Gotha.
(Statistics as of 19 July 2012.)

Goethes Werke im WWW

The Weimar edition of Goethes Werke, originally published between 1887 and 1919 (often called the Sophien-Ausgabe) is the main constituent of this database. It is supplemented by Goethes Gespräche, published between 1889 and 1896, and all the correspondence discovered since the completion of the Weimar edition and first published in 1990 as Goethes Werke, Nachträge zur Weimarer Ausgabe.

Monumenta Germaniae historica

A gargantuan work of scholarship, started in the early-nineteenth century, that intended to collect and edit all sources relating to the history of Germany and the medieval Reich. Broken down into five sections, it comprises narrative sources, letters, law codes and a host of other texts and collections, including political writings, poetry and memorial books. The associated institute, currently housed in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, continues to produce editions, academic monographs and collections of essays on any topic relating to medieval history in general and the history of Germany in particular. New editions of texts are available digitally after three years.

Oxford language dictionaries online

As well as offering an extensive German dictionary in electronic format, this database also includes a relevant range of tools and resources for German and English; useful phrases, cultural notes, interesting weblinks and a calendar of festivals and holidays. The opportunity is provided to subscribe to a German Word of the day for those keen to develop their vocabulary.

Oxford reference online

Amongst a wide range of reference resources this database gives online access to The Oxford Companion to German literature and The Oxford guide to literature in English translation. Access is also provided to a range of bilingual dictionaries, including The concise Oxford German dictionary.

 

Bibliographical resources

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft

Material listed in the BDSL is collected by the Universitätsbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main and the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), and focuses on German language and literature. The stated aim of the Sondersammelgebiet "Germanistik. Deutsche Sprache und Literatur" is to acquire all literature dealing with German philology and written in a European language. The online version grants access to the collection from 1985 onwards, and includes monographs, doctoral theses, journal articles, contributions to Festschriften and conference proceedings. The online collection grows by about 15,000 entries per year, with approximately 366.000 titles currently accessible.

MLA international bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present. It contains more than 2 million records for books and articles.

World news connection

As the link above will show, the World news connection (WNC) database consists of various subsets, including Western Europe. WNC is a service run by the US government, providing translated news items from around the world. The WNC database provides an archive of these items. The Western Europe subset includes 7 sources from Germany and 2 from Austria.
(Statistics as of 26 July 2012)