skip to content
 

This page provides pointers to databases bought or subscribed to by the Library which are of particular Slavonic interest. The databases are listed alphabetically with brief summaries of their contents and capabilities. Each database listed below is also linked to its entry on the Library's main eresources pages, where access requirements can be found.

 

ARTstor

The ARTstor digital library provides millions of arts and humanities images for research and teaching purposes. Users can browse by a number of categories as well as perform specific searches. The main categories are: geography (countries), classification (specific subjects or genres) and collections, and these are divided in turn into the appropriate geographical or classification subdivisions. For example, a geography category browse shows that there are over 5500 images associated with Russia. Within these, the most prominent classification subdivisions are photographs and paintings.
(Statistics as of 27 October 2014)

 

Cambridge companions online / Cambridge histories online

A large number of books are available electronically from Cambridge Collections Online and can be found through searches on the LibrarySearch catalogue. Two databases also bring together the contents of specific Cambridge books, duplicating what is available through the catalogue but allowing searches across books. Cambridge Companions Online includes broad titles (such as The Cambridge companion to the classic Russian novel) and specific ones (The Cambridge companion to Dostoevskii). Cambridge Histories Online can be searched with a specific term or its contents can be browsed, in categories which include literary studies and regional history.

 

Current digest of the Russian press (formerly Current digest of the Soviet/post-Soviet press)

Read about the Current digest of the Russian press on the Slavonic ejournals page.

 

Early Russian cinema (Russian cinematographic press, 1907-1918)

This is a subset of the Mass culture and entertainment in Russia database. As with the other subsets, Early Russian cinema consists of scanned journals, which are not text-searchable (NB: searching the catalogue within the subset is a search of the journal titles, not their contents). The Early Russian cinema subset contains 57 film journals from the 1900s and 1910s, such as Kine-zhurnal : zhivaia fotografiia (Moscow, 1910-1917) and Kievskii kinematograf (Kiev, 1911-1912).

 

Gazety kopeiki (mass media in Russia, 1908-1918)

This is a subset of the Mass culture and entertainment in Russia database. As with the other subsets, Gazety kopeiki consists of scanned journals, which are not text-searchable (NB: searching the catalogue within the subset is a search of the journal titles, not their contents). The Early Russian cinema subset contains 27 penny newspapers from 1908 to 1918, including the most famous of them all, the St Petersburg Gazeta-kopeika.

 

Integrum central press database

The Integrum database provides access to over a thousand current and archived press titles predominantly in Russian, from Komsomol'skaia Pravda to Sel'skaia Zhizn'. The material is both fully browse-able and text-searchable. Searches can be made in Cyrillic and in transcription, with declensions automatically included in the search. The browsing facility can be accessed by clicking on the groups of sources under the search screen to expand a group to a list of titles, and then clicking on a specific title.

 

Iskusstvo kino digital archive

Read about the Iskusstvo kino archive on the Slavonic ejournals page.

 

Izvestiia digital archive

Read about the Izvestiia digital archive on the Slavonic ejournals page.

 

Mass culture and entertainment in Russia - specific subsets

The Library subscribes to four subsets within the Mass culture and entertainment in Russia database. Each consists of scanned journals, which are not text-searchable. More information can be found out about these subsets by looking at their individual entries:

  • Early Russian cinema : Russian cinematographic press (1907-1918);
  • Gazety kopeiki : mass media in Russia (1908-1918);
  • Screen and stage : the Russian cinematographic and theater press (1889-1919); and
  • Soviet Cinema (film periodicals, mainly from the 1920s and 1930s).

 

MLA international bibliography

The MLA international bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. The bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present. It contains more than 2 million records for books and articles.

 

Oxford language dictionaries online

As well as offering an extensive Russian dictionary in electronic format, this database also includes a relevant range of tools and resources; useful phrases, cultural notes, interesting weblinks and a calendar of festivals and holidays. The opportunity is provided to subscribe to a Russian Word of the day for those keen to develop their vocabulary.

 

Pravda online archive

Read about the Pravda online archive on the Slavonic ejournals page.

 

Russian Academy of Sciences bibliographies

The Russian Academy of Sciences bibliographies is available through EBSCO (it was previously hosted by OCLC). Covering over 12,500 titles published in Russia, the former Soviet Union more widely, and Eastern Europe, it cites and provides abstracts of books, articles, and dissertations. It currently holds over 2 million records.
(Statistics as of 27 October 2014)

 

Screen and stage (the Russian cinematographic and theater press, 1889-1919)

This is a subset of the Mass culture and entertainment in Russia database. As with the other subsets, Screen and stage consists of scanned journals, which are not text-searchable (NB: searching the catalogue within the subset is a search of the journal titles, not their contents). Screen and stage contains 18 titles originally produced for a wide variety of audiences. Among the journals is the Moscow-produced Artist : teatral'nyi, muzykal'nyi i khudozhestvennyi zhurnal (1889-1895).

 

Soviet cinema

This is a subset of the Mass culture and entertainment in Russia database. As with the other subsets, Soviet cinema consists of scanned journals, which are not text-searchable (NB: searching the catalogue within the subset is a search of the journal titles, not their contents). The Early Russian cinema subset contains 39 film journals mainly from the 1920s and 1930s, including the famous Kino-fot (1922-1923), edited by Aleksei Gan.

 

Sovetskaia kul'tura digital archive

Read about the Sovetskaia kul'tura archive on the Slavonic ejournals page.

 

Stalin Digital Archive

Yale University Press and the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History have come together to produce, via EastView, a staggering group of recently declassified Russian archival material relating to Stalin and also online access to Yale UP's Annals of Communism series. The archive contains selected documents from Fond 558, from the following 5 specific sections within it (quoting the Stalin Digital Archive front page): Opis 1: documents written by Stalin from 1889-1952; Opis 2: documents written by Stalin from 1911-1944 ; Opis 3: over 300 books from Stalin's personal library with his marginal notes; Opis 4: Stalin's biographical materials; Opis 11: Stalin's correspondence and documents (this Opis covers a period from 1917 to 1952).

Access to the Stalin Digital Archive is open to on-campus users and off-campus users using Raven (it had previously been restricted to on-campus use only). Please also note that you will need to create your own MySDA account to see some material.

 

Voprosy istorii collective backfile

Read about Voprosy istorii collective backfile on the Slavonic ejournals page.

 

World news connection

The World news connection (WNC) is a service run by the US government, providing English-language translations of current and archived news items from around the world. It includes dozens of sources from Central and Eastern Europe.