Cambridge University Library

The University Library Visiting Committee

visitingcommitteeThe University Library Visiting Committee is composed of prominent individuals from outside the University’s academic body, bringing a range of expertise from the fields of business, IT, finance, librarianship, and the arts and sciences. It is chaired by Mr Dudley Fishburn.

Terms of reference of the Visiting Committee are:

  • to raise the profile of the University Library
  • to consider how the Library might make itself more attractive to potential donors
  • to serve as a means whereby potential supporters could become more engaged with the Library’s activities and goals
  • to serve as powerful advocates and supporters for the University Library,  both within and beyond Cambridge University
  • to provide a valuable external perspective

List of Current Members:

Chair: Mr. Dudley Fishburn Chair: Mr. Dudley Fishburn: Deputy Chair, Peabody Trust; a director of Henderson Smaller Companies Investment Trust plc and Beazley Group plc. 
Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell Professor Jocelyn Bell Burnell DBE: Visiting Professor of Astrophysics at the University of Oxford.
Mr Lorcan Dempsey Mr Lorcan Dempsey: Vice President, Programs and Research, and Chief Strategist of OCLC (Online Computer Library Center), Dublin, Ohio, USA. 
Mrs Rona Fairhead Mrs Rona Fairhead: Chairman and Chief Executive of the FT Group and a Director of Pearson plc, its parent company.   
Jonathan Gestetner Jonathan Gestetner: Antiquarian bookseller and the owner of Marlborough Rare Books and Pickering & Chatto.
Mr Andrew Green: Librarian Mr Andrew Green: Librarian, (Chief Executive and Accounting Officer) of the National Library of Wales. 
Nigel Newton Nigel Newton: Founder and Chief Executive of Bloomsbury Publishing.  
Mr Adam Nicolson Mr Adam Nicolson:  Journalist and acclaimed author of many books on history, travel and the environment. 
Dr Martin Read Dr Martin Read: Non-executive director of Invensys plc, Aegis Group plc and Lloyds of London and a senior advisor to Indian technology company HCL.
Dr. Pamela Rasp Dr. Pamela Raspe:  Founder and Chair of Wallace Cancer Care, the cancer support charity based at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge.
Dr Emily Rose Dr Emily Rose:  Historian of the European Middle Ages and the Early Modern Atlantic world.
Professor Toshiyuki Takamiya Professor Toshiyuki Takamiya:  Emeritus Professor of Letters and former Director, the Humanities Media Interface Project (HUMI), Keio University, Tokyo, Japan; Editor-in-Chief of Poetica, an international Journal of Linguistic-Literary Studies  
Mr David Verey CBE Mr David Verey CBE: a Director of Daily Mail and General Trust plc a member of the Blackstone European Advisory Board.
Mr Tim Waterstone Mr Tim Waterstone: Formerly Chairman and Chief Executive of Waterstone & Co.; Chancellor of Edinburgh Napier University.