skip to content

Cambridge University Library


Until 1926 the court consisted of the Chancellor and six Heads of Colleges appointed by grace for a three-year term, of whom two retired every year, but were subject to re-election. Among the penalties available to the court deprivation of degree, rustication, and expulsion required the consent of the Chancellor and at least three of the Heads. The Head of the College of the accused, had a right to be present, but not to vote. In 1926 the Vice-Chancellor was substituted for the Chancellor. The court today comprises a legally-qualified chairman, and four members of the University, not more than two of whom may be in statu pupillari, and it hears cases referred to it by the University Advocate. In addition to the penalties above the court may impose fines, payment of compensation, exclusion from university premises or facilities, or any lighter penalty.