For a simple overview and timeline of University history, see: https://www.cam.ac.uk/about-the-university/history.
The historical register of the University of Cambridge
A useful compendium volume with a series of supplements containing lists of officers and posts, lists of the order of seniority of those graduating BA up to 1747 and tripos lists from 1748, and historical information across a range of University activities from courts and discipline to ceremonies, public buildings and institutions. A fuller breakdown of the contents of each volume is given below. The later Supplements are not available in full online.
|
J.R. Tanner (ed.), The historical register of the University of Cambridge, being a supplement to the Calendar with a record of University offices, honours and distinctions to the year 1910 (Cambridge, 1917): For lists of University officers, holders of established posts (with brief history of foundation and endowment of posts), lists of those awarded University scholarships and prizes, lists of ‘Ordo senioritatis’ (order of seniority) of BAs for the period 1499 to 1747 (sometimes incomplete), tripos lists for 1748-1910, account of the constitution of the University to date: |
Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
| The historical register of the University of Cambridge: Supplement, 1911-20 (Cambridge, 1922): updates of holders of posts, tripos lists and prizes, list of advanced students (research students), list of those awarded honorary degrees, 1882-1920, and titular degrees, 1859-1920, list of those awarded diplomas, and overview of the University’s operations during the First World War: | Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
| The historical register of the University of Cambridge: Supplement, 1921-30 (Cambridge, 1932): updates to lists and new section entitled ‘Changes in the University’ to reflect the new statutes: | Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
General works of reference
The standard works of reference – History of the University of Cambridge, edited by C.N.L. Brooke (Cambridge University Press, 1988-2004) in four volumes, and Elisabeth Leedham-Green, A Concise History of the University of Cambridge, (Cambridge University Press, 1996) – are not available in full online.
| C. H. Cooper, Annals of Cambridge 5 vols (Cambridge, 1842-1908): | Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
| J.B. Mullinger, A History of the University of Cambridge (London, 1888): | Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
| D.A. Winstanley, The University of Cambridge in the eighteenth century (Cambridge, 1922): | Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
| A History of the County of Cambridge and the Isle of Ely: Volume 3, the City and University of Cambridge, ed. J.P.C. Roach (Victoria County History, London, 1959): for chapters on the history of the University, the Colleges and Halls, the Schools and University Library, the University Press, Fitzwilliam Museum and Botanic Garden, the archives, seals and insignia, Chancellors and other topics: | Via British History Online. |
| 'The University of Cambridge: The Middle Ages', ibid., pp. 150-166: | Via British History Online. |
| 'The University of Cambridge: The sixteenth century', ibid., pp. 166-191: | Via British History Online. |
| 'The University of Cambridge: The early Stuarts and Civil War', ibid., pp. 191-210: | Via British History Online. |
| 'The University of Cambridge: The age of Newton and Bentley (1660-1800)', ibid., pp. 210-235: | Via British History Online. |
| 'The University of Cambridge: The age of reforms (1800-82)', ibid., pp. 235-265: | Via British History Online. |
| 'The University of Cambridge: The modern university (1882-1939)', ibid., pp. 266-306: | Via British History Online. |
| ‘The University of Cambridge: Epilogue, 1939-56', ibid., pp. 307-312: | Via British History Online. |
| P. Zutshi, ‘The dispersal of scholars from Oxford and the beginnings of a University at Cambridge: a study of the sources’, English Historical Review Vol. 127, No. 528 (2012), pp. 1041-1062: | Available online, via JSTOR. |
| Documents relating to the University and Colleges of Cambridge 3 vols (London, 1852): | Available online, via the Internet Archive: Volume I: abstract of records received from branches of the Record office, return of commissioners appointed by Henry VIII, ancient statutes, Elizabethan statutes; Volume II: charters and statutes of Colleges; and Volume III: charters and statutes of Colleges. |
| Report of Her Majesty’s Commissioners appointed to inquire into the state, discipline, studies and revenues of the University and colleges of Cambridge, with the evidence and correspondence (London, 1852): | Available online, via the Hathi Trust Digital Library. |
| Henry Gunning, Reminiscences of the university, town and county of Cambridge from the year 1780 [to 1830] (London, 1854): | Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
| A.E. Shipley, ‘J’: A memoir of John Willis Clark, Registrary of the University of Cambridge and sometime Fellow of Trinity College (London, 1913): | Available online, via the Internet Archive. |
| J. Cox, ‘Trials and tribulations: the Cambridge University courts, 1540-1660', Transactions of the Cambridge Bibliographical Society Vol. XV, No. 4 (2015), pp. 595-623: | Available online, via JSTOR. Back issues of the Transactions are available via JSTOR after a period of three years. |
| A. Sheppard, ‘Litigation and locality: the Cambridge University courts, 1560-1640', Urban History 31.1 (2004), pp. 5-28: | Available online, via JSTOR. |
University terminology
Glossary of Cambridge-related terminology: University Archives glossary.
Glossary of Cambridge terminology: University of Cambridge glossary.
Cambridge University jargon: Queens’ College glossary.