skip to content
 

Readers are advised that some classes contain a large variety of subject matter, and for reasons of brevity, are not included in this subject listing, which is intended only as a general guide. These classes include Acton, the Royal Library and Aa-Zz. Official publications from the United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland and many international bodies are part of the Official Publications collection. 

For a list of collections by name with additional information, return to the collections list.


Africa

General: Buckley, Royal Commonwealth Society
Missionary work: SPCK
South Africa: Rosenthal

Agriculture

Yule

America

History: Royal Commonwealth Society
Missionary Work: SPCK

Annotations

Adversaria

Art and architecture

Catherine Cooke, Harley-Mason, CCA-CCE.65 (Spanish art)

Astronomy

Adams

Australasia

Royal Commonwealth Society


Ballads

Hib, Madden, and Sel.

Bibles

Young, Bible Society

Binding

Rel, Sandars Collection (Classmark SSS)

Brexit

CCA, CCC.69

British Empire

Royal Commonwealth Society


Cambridge

Cam; Cam papers

Canada

Royal Commonwealth Society

Caribbean

Royal Commonwealth Society

Chapbooks

CCA-CCE.7

Children's literature

Waddleton; CCA-CCE.7; SPCK
Schoolbooks - Sc; Upper Library (classmarks  beginning1800- )

Classics

Ritschl, Yorke , Bury

Costume

Harley-Mason

Cyprus

Royal Commonwealth Society


Dante

CCA-CCE.1

Darwin

CCA.24

Dutch

Dutch collections


Ecclesiastical Libraries

Cathedrals: Ely, Peterborough,
Archdeaconry: Huntingdon
Parish churches: Bassingbourn, Broughton
Individual clergy: Royal Library,(John Moore, Bishop of Ely); Yorke, (James Yorke, Bishop of Ely); Peterborough, (White Kennett)

Economics

Marshall, Pryme

Education

Sc (schoolbooks); CCA-E.42 (transfers from Dept of Education), Leigh.1-4, 8 (Rousseau et al).
School libraries: Bury, (Bury St Edmund's Grammar school), CCA-E.6 (Orwell School)
Charity schools & National Schools: SPCK

Emigration

Royal Commonwealth Society

English Literature

Lib, Lit
Early nineteenth century novels: Rom
Later nineteenth/early twentieth century novels: Nov
Restoration drama: Brett-Smith, Keynes, and Verney
Authors printed abroad: CCA-E.18
Verse: Forster
Ballads: Madden
Robert Bloomfield: CCA-E.34
Rupert Brooke: Keynes
Walter De La Mare CCA-E.49
Siegfried Sassoon: CCC.39 and Keynes
Laurence Sterne: Oates and CCA-E.5
Jonathan Swift: Williams

Erasmus

CCA-E.35


Film

CCA-CCF.56 (Parker cinema collection), CCA-CCE.60 (Walter Schobert collection)

France

Liberation collection

French literature

Claudel: CCA,C.45
Restif de la Bretonne: CCC.23
Rousseau: Leigh
Montaigne


Genealogy

Toft

Gibraltar

Royal Commonwealth Society

Graphics

Catherine Cooke, CCA-CCE.61 (Fritz Moser linoprints)


History (general)

Acton, Royal Commonwealth Society, and Verney

Hong Kong

Royal Commonwealth Society


Iceland

CCD.19

Illustrated Books

Lib, Tab, Ba, Eb
Colour printing: Waddleton
Aquatint and hand colouring: Harley-Mason

Incunables

Inc, Sandars (Classmark SSS) and Keynes

India

Royal Commonwealth Society

Ireland

General: Hib (the Bradshaw collection) CCD.19
Language & literature: SPCK (religious works in Irish);
Northern Ireland political literature: CCB.36

Italy

Drama: Bute
Dante: CCA-CCE.1


Law

PA-PM

Liturgies

Morison and Rit. See also Theology.


Malaysia

Royal Commonwealth Society

Malta

Royal Commonwealth Society

Mathematics

CCA-E.13; White

Medicine

De Laszlo; Path; Arc.201-400

Middle East

Moh; Bensly

Military history

WRA-WRE (World War One collection)

Missionary work

SPCK; Royal Commonwealth Society; CCA-D.58 (Waldensians)

Music

Madden (ballads); SPCK (hymn books); Music Department Home page


National Socialism

CCC.25 and CCA-C.26

Navigation

Hanson


Obscene and withdrawn books

Arc

Occult

Hunter, Society for Psychical Research, (Classmark SPR)

Ornithology

Wane


Paleography

Morison; A3-figures (Manuscripts Reading Room reference works)

Pamphlets

Aaa-Kkk; Pam; Syn; SPCK (religious tracts)

Philosophy

Logic: Venn
French: Leigh; Montaigne

Photographs

Royal Commonwealth Society

Portraits

Portraits in the Library

Portugal

Norton

Posters

Catherine Cooke, Tower posters collection

Printing, publishing etc.

CCA-CCF.52 (Dreyfus collection); Historical Printing Room; Morison; Munby; Broxbourne; Ta-Tf; Sel; Sandars (classmark SSS)
Colour printing: Waddleton

Psychiatry

Hunter

Quakers

CCA-CCE.67

Russian art and architecture

Catherine Cooke


Science

Darwin: CCA.24
Natural Sciences: MA-MH
Phytotherapy: De Laszlo
Pathology: Path
Maths, Physics and Optics: White
Ornithology: Wane

Singapore

Royal Commonwealth Society

South Africa

Rosenthal; Royal Commonwealth Society

Soviet art and architecture

Catherine Cooke

Spain

Hisp; Norton

Sport

Field sports and Boxing: Harley-Mason
College sports and societies: Cam & Cam Papers


Theology

Bible Society; Ely; Yorke; Huntingdon; 1-34; Bury; Broughton; Bassingbourn; Peterborough ; SPCK; Th
Bible translations: Bible SocietyCCC.21; SPCK; Young
Canonization collection: CCA.41
Erasmus: CCA-E.16
Liturgies & history: Morison; Rit; Young
Muggletonians: CCB.31
Papacy: CCA.9
Popish Plot: Verney
Quakers: CCA-CCE.67
Ridley Hall books: CCA-E.20
Sermons and theology: Pam; SPCK

Topography

Harley-Mason; NA-NF For further items relating to topography, please consult the Map Department.

Travel

Harley-Mason; Hanson; Royal Commonwealth Society

Turkey

Gibb

Typography

See Printing, publishing etc.


War

War of 1914-1919

Liberation collection (World War II)

West Indies

Royal Commonwealth Society

Witchcraft

Hunter; Society for Psychical Research


Zoology

Ornithology: Wane
Darwin: CCA.24.